The Berlin Wall and the division of the city

  • 5 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

A symbol of the Cold War, the Berlin Wall has remained intact in some parts of the capital and has become an essential tourist attraction. These 5 days of visit will immerse you in the lives of Berlin's inhabitants, divided between West and East for almost three decades.

Photo gallery

28 th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Berlin
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: The Berlin Wall and the division of the city - 5 days

Day 1 : The Wall

The tour starts at Bernauerstraße, between Ackerstraße and Bergstraße (U-Bahn 5: Bernauerstraße) where a piece of Wall is classified as a historical monument. A memorial was inaugurated there in 1998. Next to it is the Chapel of Reconciliation, built on the site of the Church of Reconciliation, which was destroyed by border troops in 1985. Opposite is the documentation centre on the Wall (free entrance). Feel free to climb the steps of the observation tower of this institution: a raised platform shows that the Berlin Wall actually consisted of two walls: a "protection wall" on the east side doubled the Berlin Wall, with, between the two buildings, an area permanently mined and patrolled by the formidable border police. Then visit Mauerpark, on Eberswalder Straße, a very popular park where the unmissable Berlin Sunday meeting is held, a giant Flohmarkt (flea market). Now very much alive, it was once a no man's land that ran alongside the Wall. Then go to the East Side Gallery, on Mühlenstraße (S-/U-Bahn: Warschauer Straße or Ostbahnhof) where more than one kilometre of the Wall is located, illustrated by international artists during the reunification, at the invitation of the new German government. Visit the viewpoint on Schlesische Straße, near the Landwehrkanal (U-Bahn Schlesische Tor). Then go down to the S-Bahn Marienfelde station to visit the German Refugee Museum in Marienfelde. To close this visit, take a tour of the Liberty Bell, J-F-Kennedy Square (U-Bahn Rathaus Schöneberg) from where JFK launched its famous "Ich bin ein Berliner".

Day 2 : The Wall (bis)

Head for the Wall Museum, called Haus Am Checkpoint Charlie, on Friedrichstraße, at No. 44 (U-Bahn Kochstraße or Stadmitte). After 2 or 3 hours in this museum, you will know everything about the Wall, from its construction to its fall. Explanations in French. On Niederkirchnerstraße are also a few metres from the more unknown Wall. Then admire the Potsdamer Platz, a true emblem of modern architecture in Berlin, where the Sony Center and the Debis Tower, designed by star architect Renzo Piano, stand. Go up to the Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor), long considered the symbol of the German division. A little further north, not far from the Reichstag, wreaths of flowers litter the ground in commemoration of those killed trying to cross the Wall (a double line of paving stones indicates the location of the Wall). Finish with a visit to the Invalidenfriedhof (Invalides Cemetery), on Scharnhorstraße, perpendicular to Invalidenstraße. This cemetery was once crossed by the Wall and its Todesstreife (death zone).

Day 3 : To the East

Start with the Gethsemanekirche, Stargarden Straße 77, U-Bahn Schönhauser Allee. In this church began resistance to the GDR regime, encouraged by the Protestant clergy, which welcomed opponents of the dictatorship within its walls - which the East German political police were not allowed to violate. A visit to the Hohenschönhausen Memorial on Genslerstraße 66 (tram no. 6 or 7 to Genslerstrasse) is really worth a visit. A former Soviet and GDR prison that housed between 10,000 and 20,000 prisoners between 1945 and 1946, many of whom died in March 1951, this place became one of the headquarters of the Stasi (Ministry of National Security) where many suspects were tortured. Today, the visits (in German and English) are guided by former detainees, whose living testimony is absolutely poignant and hopeful. Finish with the Normannenstraße memorial, the Stasimuseum. Formerly the headquarters of the Stasi, this place is now a centre for research and commemoration of the German resistance, but also a museum of the Stasi. It describes the interrogation methods, the objects (sometimes ridiculous, sometimes frighteningly ingenious) used by political police officers and even the modest office of Stasi leader Erich Mielke.

Day 4 : In the south, the Berlin blockade

Next to the former Tempelhof airport (on U-Bahn Platz der Luftbrücke square) there is a memorial to the air bridge (Luftbrücke) built during the West Berlin blockade (June 1948 to May 1949). This arch is completed by its other half which is located near Frankfurt am Main where it can be seen from the motorway. The Allied Museum (Outpost Cinema, Clayallee 135, U-Bahn Oskar-Helene-Heim), located in the former US Army cinema, tells the story of the role of France, Britain and the United States in the post-war period.

Day 5 : Life under the GDR

Start with two open-air museums of the East Germany regime. First, the (long) Karl-Marx Allee (S-Bahn Schillingsstr.), symbolic avenue of East Berlin. The plan went through its army every year. A small museum is dedicated to the Café Sybille at 24, on the avenue (free entrance). Then walk on the side of the Soviet memorial with its impressive esplanade in Treptow park (Sowjetisches Ehrenmal, S-Bahn Treptower Park). In the afternoon, take a tour at the daily LIFE Museum of the GDR (DDR Museum) at the end of Alexanderplatz at the Karl-Soviet bridge level.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Le Mur de Berlin et la division de la ville

  • 5 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

Symbole de la guerre froide, le Mur de Berlin est resté intacte à certains endroits de la capitale et est devenu une attraction touristique incontournable. Ces 5 jours de visite vous plongeront dans la vie des habitants de Berlin, divisés entre l'Ouest et l'Est pendant presque trois décennies.

Galerie photos

Kulturbrauerei, site culturel majeur de la ville Vue sur Berlin depuis la colonne de Siegessaüle Porte de Brandebourg Coupole du Reichstag Le Französischer Dom, église protestante sur Gendarmenmarkt

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • BERLIN
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Le Mur de Berlin et la division de la ville - 5 jours

Jour 1 : Le Mur

Le circuit commence à la Bernauerstraße, entre l'Ackerstraße et la Bergstraße (U-Bahn 5 : Bernauerstraße) où un morceau de Mur est classé monument historique. Un mémorial y a été inauguré en 1998. A côté se trouve la chapelle de la Réconciliation, construite à la place de l'église de la Réconciliation qui fut détruite par les troupes frontalières en 1985. En face se trouve le centre de documentation sur le Mur (entrée gratuite). N'hésitez pas à gravir les marches de la tour d'observation de cette institution : une plate-forme surélevée permet de constater que le Mur de Berlin était en réalité constitué de deux murs : un "mur de protection" côté Est doublait le Mur de Berlin, avec, entre les deux édifices, une zone minée et patrouillée en permanence par la redoutable police frontalière. Visitez ensuite Mauerpark, sur la Eberswalder Straße, un parc très populaire où se tient le rendez-vous immanquable des dimanches berlinois, un Flohmarkt géant (marché aux puces). Aujourd'hui très vivant, c'était autrefois un no man's land qui longeait le Mur. Rendez-vous ensuite à la East Side Gallery, sur Mühlenstraße (S-/U-Bahn : Warschauer Straße ou Ostbahnhof) où se trouve plus d'un kilomètre du Mur, illustré par des artistes internationaux lors de la réunification, sur invitation du nouveau gourvernement allemand. Allez voir le mirador, sur la Schlesische Straße, tout près du Landwehrkanal (U-Bahn Schlesische Tor). Descendez ensuite jusqu'à la station de S-Bahn Marienfelde pour visiter le musée des Réfugiés allemands de Marienfelde. Pour clore cette visite, faites un tour à la cloche de la Liberté, place J-F-Kennedy (U-Bahn Rathaus Schöneberg) d'où JFK lança son célèbre " Ich bin ein Berliner ".

Jour 2 : Le Mur (bis)

Direction le musée du Mur, appelé Haus Am Checkpoint Charlie, sur la Friedrichstraße, au n° 44 (U-Bahn Kochstraße ou Stadmitte). Après 2 ou 3 heures dans ce musée, vous saurez tout sur le Mur depuis sa construction jusqu'à sa chute. Explications en français. Sur la Niederkirchnerstraße se trouvent également quelques mètres de Mur plus méconnus. Admirez ensuite la Potsdamer Platz, véritable emblème de l'architecture moderne à Berlin, où s'élèvent le Sony Center et la Tour Debis, une réalisation de l'architecte star Renzo Piano. Remontez vers la porte de Brandenburg (Brandenburger Tor), longtemps considérée comme le symbole de la division allemande. Un peu plus au nord, non loin du Reichstag, des couronnes de fleurs jonchent le sol en commémoration des personnes abattues en tentant de franchir le Mur (une double ligne de pavés indique l'emplacement du Mur). Terminez par une visite de l'Invalidenfriedhof (cimetière des Invalides), sur la Scharnhorstraße, perpendiculaire à la Invalidenstraße. Ce cimetière était autrefois traversé par le Mur et sa Todesstreife (zone de mort).

Jour 3 : A l'Est

Débutez par la Gethsemanekirche, Stargarden Straße 77, U-Bahn Schönhauser Allee. Dans cette église commença la résistance au régime de la RDA, encouragée par le clergé protestant, qui accueillait des opposants à la dictature entre ses murs - que la police politique est-allemande n'avait pas le droit de violer. Une visite au mémorial de Hohenschönhausen, sur la Genslerstraße 66 (tram n° 6 ou 7 jusque Genslerstrasse), vaut vraiment le détour. Ancienne prison de l'époque soviétique et de la RDA qui accueillit entre 1945 et 1946 entre 10 000 et 20 000 prisonniers, dont beaucoup sont morts, en mars 1951, ce lieu devint un des quartiers généraux de la Stasi (ministère de la Sécurité nationale) où ont été torturés de nombreux suspects. Aujourd'hui, les visites (en allemand et en anglais) sont guidées par d'anciens détenus, dont le témoignage vivant est absolument poignant et porteur d'espoir. Terminez par le mémorial de Normannenstraße, le Stasimuseum. Ancien quartier général de la Stasi, ce lieu est maintenant un centre de recherche et de commémoration de la résistance allemande mais aussi un musée de la Stasi. Il expose les méthodes d'interrogation, les objets (parfois ridicules, parfois d'une ingéniosité redoutable) utilisés par les agents de la police politique et on peut même y voir le modeste bureau du chef de la Stasi, Erich Mielke.

Jour 4 : Au sud, le blocus de Berlin

A côté de l'ancien aéroport de Tempelhof (sur la place U-Bahn Platz-der-Luftbrücke) se trouve un monument commémoratif rappelant le pont aérien (Luftbrücke) mis en place pendant le blocus de Berlin-Ouest (de juin 1948 à mai 1949). Cet arc est complété par son autre moitié qui se trouve dans les environs de Francfort-sur-le-Main où l'on peut l'apercevoir depuis l'autoroute. Le musée des Alliés (cinéma Outpost, Clayallee 135, U-Bahn Oskar-Helene-Heim), situé dans l'ancien cinéma de l'armée américaine, raconte quant à lui le rôle de la France, la Grande-Bretagne et des Etats-Unis pendant l'après-guerre.

Jour 5 : La vie sous la RDA

Débutez par deux musées à ciel ouvert du régime de l'Allemagne de l'Est. Tout d'abord, la (longue) Karl-Marx-Allee (S-Bahn Schillingsstr.), l'avenue symbolique de Berlin-Est. Le régime y faisait défiler son armée chaque année. Un petit musée lui est consacré dans l'enceinte du Café Sybille, au 24, de l'avenue (entrée gratuite). Puis allez vous promener du côté du mémorial soviétique, avec son esplanade impressionnante au sein du parc de Treptow (Sowjetisches Ehrenmal, S-Bahn Treptower Park). L'après-midi, faites un tour au musée de la Vie quotidienne de la RDA (DDR Museum) au bout de l'Alexanderplatz, au niveau du pont de Karl-Liebknecht.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur