Discovering Berlin's architecture

  • 5 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

During these 5 days in Berlin, you will have time to admire the architecture of the German capital while (re)discovering its history. A journey that will take you from Prussian palaces to the modern buildings that decorate the city.

Photo gallery


Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Berlin
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Discovering Berlin's architecture - 5 days

Day 1 : The Prussian heritage

Begin this discovery of Prussian architecture at the U-Bahn Stadtmitte station. You are then a stone's throw from Gendarmenmarkt, considered by many to be Berlin's most beautiful historic square. Here stand the two symmetrical cathedrals, the Deutscher and Französische Dom. Among them, the concert hall, the superb Konzerthaus, the work of the great architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel. Join the former Forum Friedericianum, a large paved square overlooking Unter den Linden. Under Friedrich II's regency, an imposing complex of buildings was planned around the current Bebelplatz. The master builder Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff carried out the work, including the construction of a palace, the Prinz Heinrich Palace, an opera house, the Staatsoper, and the Academy Library. Across the street is the Neue Wache, another classic masterpiece by the great Friedrich Karl Schinkel. This former ammunition depot guard post is now a "memorial dedicated to the victims of war and tyranny". The imposing neighbouring building is the Arsenal or Zeughaus, which houses the Museum of German History. Then cross the Spree by the Schlossbrücke, one of Berlin's most amazing bridges, including the work done for the bas-reliefs. You will then reach the island of Museums, home to the capital's greatest museums: the Altes Museum, the Alte Nationale Galerie, the Pergammon Museum, the Bode Museum and the Neues Museum, which houses the famous bust of Nefertititi, in an exceptional architectural creation by the English architect David Chipperfield. If the afternoon is not too late, visit one of these museums. In the evening, admire the illuminated Brandenburger Tor or the Berliner Dom, Berlin's majestic cathedral that stands on the Lustgarten (literally the pleasure garden) alongside the Altes Museum.

Day 2 : The Gründerzeit of the turn of the 20th century

Start this day at the S-Bahn station of Hackescher Markt to discover the district's buildings that recall the turn of the century and Berlin's accelerated urbanization. The urban fabric then became denser, favouring a mixed housing where the courtyards sheltered workshops, factories, dwellings and places of entertainment. If there are so many courtyards in Berlin (Hinterhöfe), it is because the tax was calculated on the surface area of the street front. In Rosenthalerstrasse, take a look at the former Wertheim department store built in 1903 by Messel. Going down the street to the S-Bahn Hackescher Markt station, you can enter the beautiful Hackescher Höfe. In the first courtyard, Kurt Berndt and August Endell joined forces to build a building in 1906 that was organized around a main courtyard with various shops. Its facade paved with Jugendstil mosaics is a fine example of German Art Nouveau. Along Oranienburgerstrasse, admire another example of Hinterhof, the Kunsthof at number 27, then at number 32, a former margarine factory, the Heckmannhöfe. Continue to Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and the Babylon cinema. Designed during the period of the major housing reforms (1928-1930), this complex of buildings is perfectly in line with the style of the 1920s in Germany, with the predominance of vertical lines and rounded façades at the corners. To end this day, take a walk in the Mietskaserne of Prenzlauer Berg, especially along Rykestraße, Oderbergerstraße, etc.

Day 3 : The post-war period in the West

In the Zoologischer Garten district, you can admire the old shopping centre opposite the station, the Zoobogen (formerly Zentrum am Zoo), a listed historical monument. In 1956-1957, the project was to build a large women's fashion centre, thanks to substantial funding from the Marshall Plan. Nearby, the Zoo Palast cinema was built in 1957 on the site that hosted the UFA-Palast cinema. Still on the way to Breitscheidplatz, just before the church, admire the Bikini-Haus, also built between 1956 and 1957, according to the plans of Paul Schwebes and Hans Schoszberger. Originally, the architects had not planned to add a third floor; the building was divided in its centre by a floor made of columns. That's why the Berliners called it... the Bikini! In 1978, the missing floor was added to accommodate a new space for art exhibitions. In 2014, Bikini-Haus reopened its doors after a major renovation and now houses an important shopping complex: bars, restaurants, trendy boutiques celebrating the "Berlin exception" and a luxury hotel, the 25hours Bikini Berlin. In the square, you can now discover the famous Remembrance Church, the Gedächtniskirche. The construction in 1961 of this modern building, integrating the ruins of the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial, made great noise. An exhibition is installed inside the ruins. The Europa-Center opposite was built between 1963 and 1965 according to the plans of Helmut Hentrich and Hubert Petschnigg. The aesthetics of this monumental shopping centre is very questionable today, but it shone through at the time with its bold modernism. In the afternoon, jump on the bus 200 to reach the Kulturforum. Get off at the Philharmonie stop to admire this concert hall with its original architecture and exceptional acoustics (guided tour every day at 1:30 pm, except in July and August). The Kulturforum was entirely built in the 1950s and now houses many museums such as the Neue National Galerie, which hosts renowned temporary exhibitions, and the Kunstgewerbemuseum, the museum of decorative arts.

Day 4 : The post-war period in the East

This day will lead you in the footsteps of an imposing and sometimes icy architecture, the best example of which is the Stalinallee, now renowned as Karl Marx Allee. Start the walk at Frankfurter Tor station with the two minarets that take their cue from the cathedrals of the Gendarmenmarkt. Then drive the few kilometres of the avenue. This pharaonic achievement is undoubtedly the most important testimony to urban planning as it was envisaged in the GDR. This immense boulevard was designated as the first socialist avenue, because it was to invite members of all classes to live together in perfect harmony. Be aware of two buildings whose horizontal architecture made of concrete and glass is strangely charming: the Kino International cinema, at Schlillingstraße station, and the Café Moskau, opposite. The legendary Sybille Café will offer you a comforting stopover on this long walk; it houses a small exhibition on the history of the avenue. Finally, take a look through the windows of the former Karl-Marx-Buchhandlung, a mythical bookstore that is now closed, but which has hosted a literary salon since 2015 (open only on the evenings of events, www.karlmarx-buchhandlung.com). Once you reach Alexanderplatz, observe the work of Hermann Henselmann, the Haus des Lehrers, an imposing concrete tower with a frieze nearly 125 m long, designed by Walter Womacka. It represents the different sciences and technologies valued by the communist regime. The famous Fernsehturm was built between 1965 and 1969 by architects Dieter Fritz, Günter Franck and Werner Ahrand. Finish the walk in the Nikolaiviertel, a slightly kitsch reconstruction of the city's medieval historic heart by the East German government on the occasion of the city's 750th anniversary. Today it is no longer possible to admire the Palast der Republik, completely destroyed, once a fine example of post-war communist architecture. The Palast der Republik stood on the site of the former Berlin Castle, which was partially destroyed by World War II bombardments and then razed to the ground in 1950 by the communist authorities. The controversial reconstruction of the Berliner Stadtschloss began in June 2013, a symbol of an era that wanted to erase the traces of a heavy communist past.

Day 5 : Modern Berlin

You will spend the morning at Potsdamer Platz and its skyscrapers. The Sony Center buildings are particularly interesting. The canvas roof in the centre represents the Fujiyama volcano, a reference to Sony's origins. They are home to the German Film Museum, the DFFB film school and a few multiplexes. Then you can continue on to the north of the Tiergarten, where you can admire the many embassies of Hiroshima Straße and the surrounding streets, or choose to follow the Ebertstraße to the Reichstag. Stop for a moment at the strange and moving memorial to the murdered Jews of Europe, an impressive labyrinth of memorial stelae. Once you arrive at the Reichstag, stroll along the Spree River to admire the new government buildings and the sumptuous Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), all the fruits of the modern architectural wave of the 1990s-2000.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

A la découverte de l'architecture berlinoise

  • 5 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

Durant ces 5 journées à Berlin, vous aurez le temps d'admirer l'architecture de la capitale allemande tout en (re)découvrant son histoire. Un parcours qui vous mènera des palais prussiens aux bâtiments modernes qui garnissent la ville.

Galerie photos

Kulturbrauerei, site culturel majeur de la ville Vue sur Berlin depuis la colonne de Siegessaüle Porte de Brandebourg Coupole du Reichstag Le Französischer Dom, église protestante sur Gendarmenmarkt

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • BERLIN
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : A la découverte de l'architecture berlinoise - 5 jours

Jour 1 : L'héritage prussien

Débuter cette découverte de l'architecture prussienne à la station de U-Bahn Stadtmitte. Vous êtes alors à deux pas de Gendarmenmarkt, considéré par beaucoup comme la plus jolie place historique de Berlin. Ici se dressent les deux cathédrales symétriques, le Deutscher et Französische Dom. Entre elles, la salle de concert, la superbe Konzerthaus, oeuvre du grand architecte Karl Friedrich Schinkel. Rejoignez l'ancien Forum Friedericianum, une vaste place pavée qui donne sur Unter den Linden. Sous la régence de Friedrich II, on prévoyait un imposant ensemble de bâtiments autour de l'actuelle Bebelplatz. C'est le maître constructeur Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff qui exécuta les travaux dont l'édification d'un palais, le palais Prinz Heinrich, d'un opéra, le Staatsoper, et de la bibliothèque de l'Académie. En face se trouve la Neue Wache, un autre chef-d'oeuvre classique du grand Friedrich Karl Schinkel. Cet ancien poste de garde du dépôt de munitions est aujourd'hui un " mémorial dédié aux victimes de la guerre et de la tyrannie ". L'imposant bâtiment voisin est l'Arsenal ou Zeughaus, qui abrite le Musée de l'Histoire allemande. Traversez ensuite la Spree par le Schlossbrücke, un des ponts les plus étonnants de Berlin, notamment par le travail réalisé pour les bas-reliefs. Vous rejoignez alors l'île des Musées, siège des plus grands musées de la capitale : l'Altes Museum, l'Alte Nationale Galerie, le Pergammon Museum, le Bode Museum et le Neues Museum qui abrite le célébrissime buste de Néfertiti, dans une création architecturale exceptionnelle de l'architecte anglais David Chipperfield. Si l'après-midi n'est pas trop avancé, allez visiter l'un de ces musées. Le soir, admirez la Brandenburger Tor illuminée ou le Berliner Dom, la majestueuse cathédrale de Berlin qui se dresse sur le Lustgarten (littéralement le jardin d'agrément) aux côtés de l'Altes Museum.

Jour 2 : Le Gründerzeit du tournant du XXe siècle

Débutez cette journée à la station de S-Bahn de Hackescher Markt pour découvrir les bâtiments du quartier qui rappellent le tournant du siècle et l'urbanisation accélérée de Berlin. Le tissu urbain s'est alors densifié, privilégiant un habitat mixte où les cours abritaient ateliers, usines, habitations et lieux de divertissement. S'il y a autant de cours intérieures à Berlin (Hinterhöfe), cela s'explique par le fait que l'impôt était calculé sur la surface de la façade donnant sur la rue. Dans la Rosenthalerstrasse, jetez un oeil sur l'ancien Grand Magasin Wertheim construit en 1903 par Messel. En descendant la rue vers la station de S-Bahn Hackescher Markt, vous pouvez pénétrer dans les admirables Hackescher Höfe. Dans la première cour, Kurt Berndt et August Endell s'associèrent pour réaliser en 1906 un bâtiment qui s'organise autour d'une cour principale où sont installés différents commerces. Sa façade pavée de mosaïques Jugendstil est un bel exemple d'Art nouveau à l'allemande. Le long de la Oranienburgerstrasse, admirez un autre exemple d'Hinterhof, le Kunsthof au numéro 27, puis au numéro 32, une ancienne usine de margarine, les Heckmannhöfe. Continuez jusqu'à la Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz et le cinéma Babylon. Conçu durant la période des grandes réformes sur l'habitat (1928-1930), cet ensemble de bâtiments s'inscrit parfaitement dans le style des années 1920 en Allemagne, avec notamment la prédominance de lignes verticales et les façades arrondies aux angles. Pour clore cette journée, promenez-vous dans les Mietskaserne de Prenzlauer Berg, notamment le long de la Rykestraße, de la Oderbergerstraße, etc.

Jour 3 : L'après-guerre à l'Ouest

Dans le quartier du Zoologischer Garten, on admirera l'ancien centre commercial en face de la gare, le Zoobogen (autrefois Zentrum am Zoo), classé Monument historique. En 1956-1957, le projet était de construire un grand centre de mode féminine, grâce aux financements conséquents du plan Marshall. A proximité, le cinéma Zoo Palast fut quant à lui construit en 1957 sur le terrain qui accueillait le cinéma UFA-Palast. Toujours sur le chemin vous menant à la Breitscheidplatz, juste avant l'église, admirez la Bikini-Haus, construite également entre 1956 et 1957, d'après les plans de Paul Schwebes et Hans Schoszberger. A l'origine, les architectes n'avaient pas prévu d'y ajouter un troisième étage ; le bâtiment était divisé en son centre par un étage fait de colonnes. C'est la raison pour laquelle les Berlinois l'appelèrent... le Bikini ! En 1978, l'étage manquant fut ajouté afin d'y accueillir un nouvel espace destiné à des expositions d'oeuvres d'art. En 2014, la Bikini-Haus a rouvert ses portes après une rénovation majeure et abrite aujourd'hui un important complexe commercial : bars, restaurants, boutiques branchées exaltant "l'exception berlinoise" et un hôtel de luxe, le 25hours Bikini Berlin. Sur la place, vous découvrez maintenant la fameuse église du Souvenir, la Gedächtniskirche. La construction en 1961 de cet édifice moderne, intégrant les ruines du mémorial du Kaiser Wilhelm, fit grand bruit. Une exposition est installée à l'intérieur des ruines. L'Europa-Center en face fut construit entre 1963 et 1965 d'après les plans d'Helmut Hentrich et Hubert Petschnigg. L'esthétique de ce monumental centre commercial est très discutable aujourd'hui, mais il brillait à l'époque par l'audace de son modernisme. L'après-midi, sautez dans le bus 200 pour rejoindre le Kulturforum. Descendez à l'arrêt Philarmonie pour admirer cette salle de concerts à l'architecture originale et à l'acoustique exceptionnelle (visite guidée tous les jours à 13h30, sauf en juillet et en août). Le Kulturforum a été entièrement réalisé durant les années 1950 et abrite aujourd'hui de nombreux musées comme la Neue National Galerie qui accueille des expositions temporaires renommées et le Kunstgewerbemuseum, le musée d'Arts décoratifs.

Jour 4 : L'après-guerre à l'Est

Cette journée vous mènera sur les traces d'une architecture imposante et parfois glaciale dont le meilleur exemple est la Stalinallee, aujourd'hui renommée en Karl Marx Allee. Débutez la balade à la station Frankfurter Tor avec les deux minarets qui prennent exemple sur les cathédrales du Gendarmenmarkt. Parcourez ensuite les quelques kilomètres de l'avenue. Cette réalisation pharaonique est incontestablement le plus important témoignage de l'urbanisme tel qu'il était envisagé en RDA. Cet immense boulevard fut désigné comme la première avenue socialiste, car il devait inviter les membres de toutes les classes à vivre ensemble, en parfaite harmonie. Soyez attentif à deux bâtiments dont l'architecture horizontale faite de béton et de verre ne manque étrangement pas de charme : le cinéma Kino International, au niveau de la station de Schlillingstraße, ainsi que le Café Moskau, en face. Le légendaire café Sybille vous offrira une halte réconfortante dans cette longue marche ; il abrite une petite exposition sur l'histoire de l'avenue. Enfin, jetez un oeil à travers les vitrines de l'ancienne Karl-Marx-Buchhandlung, librairie mythique aujourd'hui fermée, qui accueille cependant un salon littéraire depuis 2015 (ouverte les soirs d'événements uniquement, www.karlmarx-buchhandlung.com). Une fois arrivé à l'Alexanderplatz, observez l'oeuvre de Hermann Henselmann, la Haus des Lehrers, une imposante tour de béton agrémentée d'une frise de près de 125 m de longueur, réalisée par Walter Womacka. Celle-ci représente les différentes sciences et techniques valorisées par le régime communiste. La fameuse Fernsehturm fut, quant à elle, construite entre 1965 et 1969 par les architectes Dieter Fritz, Günter Franck et Werner Ahrand. Terminez la balade dans le Nikolaiviertel, une reconstruction légèrement kitsch du coeur historique médiéval de la ville par le gouvernement est-allemand à l'occasion du 750e anniversaire de la ville. Il n'est aujourd'hui plus possible d'admirer le Palast der Republik, entièrement détruit, autrefois un bel exemple d'architecture communiste d'après-guerre. Le Palast der Republik s'élevait sur le site de l'ancien château de la ville de Berlin, qui fut détruit en partie par les bombardements de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, puis rasé en 1950 par les autorités communistes. Symbole d'une époque qui souhaite effacer les traces d'un lourd passé communiste, la reconstruction controversée du Berliner Stadtschloss a commencé en juin 2013.

Jour 5 : Le Berlin moderne

Vous consacrerez la matinée à la Potsdamer Platz et ses gratte-ciel. Les bâtiments du Sony Center sont particulièrement intéressants. Le toit de toile du centre représente le volcan du Fujiyama, clin d'oeil aux origines de Sony. Ils abritent notamment le Musée du Cinéma allemand, l'école de cinéma DFFB, ainsi que quelques multiplexes. Vous pouvez ensuite poursuivre votre route en direction du nord du Tiergarten, pour y admirer les nombreuses ambassades de la Hiroshima Straße et des rues environnantes, ou choisir de longer l'Ebertstraße jusqu'au Reichstag. Arrêtez-vous quelques instants à l'étrange et émouvant mémorial aux juifs assassinés d'Europe, un impressionnant labyrinthe de stèles commémoratives. Une fois arrivé au Reichstag, déambulez le long de la Spree pour admirer les nouveaux bâtiments gouvernementaux et la somptueuse gare centrale (Hauptbahnhof), tous fruits de la vague architecturale moderne des années 1990-2000.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur