Exploring Afghanistan

  • 21 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Medium

If you want a good overview of Afghanistan, you should spend at least three weeks there. Travelling to Afghanistan takes a long time. In this three-week itinerary, only those sites and cities that were not affected by insecurity in 2012 are indicated.

If you want to reduce your travel time, you can fly and visit only the major cities of Afghanistan (Kabul-Mazar-Herat, or even an extension to Bamiyan if you can benefit from a UN or Pactec flight). Thus, in about ten days, we will go to Mazar-e-Sharif (from there, it is possible to spend a day in Balkh and eventually in Sheberghan). Then we will take a flight to Kabul, then Kabul-Herat, where we will stay for 2 days. On the return to Kabul, excursions are possible in one day.

Photo gallery

<p>View of Kabul from the hill of Wazir Akbar Khan.</p> <p>Mausoleum of Ahmad Shah Massoud, leader of Afghan resistance against the Soviets.</p> <p>Majestic volcano.</p> <p>Jardins Gardens where the emperor of the same name is buried.</p> <p>Horse carts, Balkh taxi.</p> <p>The fray: tchopendoz wrenching the goat carcass.</p> <p>Gardens of the Serena, the grand hotel in Kabul.</p> Mazar-e-Charif mosque where the tomb of Hazrat Ali is. <p>Kites, Teppe Maranjan, with the tombs of the Kings Nadir Shah and Zaher Shah.</p> <p>View from the Citadelle Ikhtyaruddin citadel in Hérât.</p> <p>Children met on the dominant Hill Hérât.</p> <p>These four minarets come from the last emperor timurid of Hérât.</p> <p>Merchants in the bazaar of Hérât.</p> <p>An antiques shop by the real estate of Ali Baba.</p> <p>A grandfather and his grandson at the bazaar.</p> On the left, site of one of the two Buddhas destroyed in 2001 by the Taliban. <p>The Bamiyan Valley.</p> <p>Campaign in the vicinity of Bamiyan.</p> <p>A few kilometres from Kabul, the lake of Carghea, the Kaboulis promenade on Friday.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Kabul
  • Istalif
  • Bamiyan
  • Band-E-Amir
  • Pull-I-Khumri
  • Samangan Haïbak
  • Mazar-E-Charif
  • Balkh
  • Maïmana
  • Herât
  • Jam
  • Ghazni
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Exploring Afghanistan - 21 days

Day 1 : Discovery of Kabul

In the morning, visit the bazaar, the bird market and Chicken Street. In the afternoon, walk on the ramparts of Kabul, ending with the gardens of Babur.

Day 2 : Excursion in the Panjshir Valley to the Mausoleum of Massoud

Day trip to the Panjshir Valley. It is better to leave Kabul early enough to have time to walk around. In Bazarak, visit of Ahmad Shah Massoud's mausoleum. Picnic on the banks of the Panjshir River. Stroll and return to Kabul in the evening. Night in Kabul.

Day 3 : Crossing Buddhist sites on the Route du Nord

Departure by car early in the morning to the North. It takes 6-7 hours to drive (it is possible to fly, but some sites would necessarily be omitted). On the road, stop at the Salang tunnel, built in 1963 and which played a mythical role in the Afghan resistance. Lunch in the village of Dochi. Stop at the Buddhist site of Sukh Kotal, near Pul-e-Khumri, then at Takht-e-Rostam, also a Buddhist site near Samangan. Arrival in the evening in Mazar-e-Sharif. Overnight in one of the city's hotels, preferably near the Blue Mosque.

Day 4 : Day trip to Mazar-e-Sharif

Visit of the Blue Mosque. A stroll through the city's big bazaar. Shopping for carpets and scarves in the many shops around the mosque. Dinner, then exit to the fair (except winter).

Day 5 : From Balkh, "the mother of all cities" in Sheberghan

Day trip to Balkh and Sheberghan (arrange to be there on a Friday). Visit of the ancient city and the mosque of Haji Piyada. Walk around the site. Lunch in Sheberghan. A short tour of the city dedicated to the warlord Dostom. Attend a bouzkachi at the entrance to the city. Return, then overnight in Mazar-e-Sharif.

Day 6 : Desert crossing

Departure very early for Maimana if security permits. From Mazar, count one day's drive. Stop in Andhoy, the carpet capital, near the Turkmen border. Crossing the desert of Dasht-e-Laïla. Night in Mayana.

Day 7 : Exploration of Maïmana

Visit of Maïmana bazaar. Walk by taxi taxi. Climb on the hills overlooking the city. Night in Maïmana.

Day 8 : Reverse path

Return to Mazar-e-Sharif by the same route. Night in Mazar.

Day 9 : In-depth visit of Kabul

Plane to Kabul. Visit of the Darulaman district and the National Museum. Sunset on the kite hill.

Day 10 : Local crafts in Istalif

A day trip to the village of Istalif. Picnic on the river. Ceramic shopping. A leisurely stroll on the hills of the village. Night in Kabul.

Day 11 : Envol for Hérât

Departure for Hérât by plane (2 hours flight). There are many sites to visit in Hérât. If you arrive early enough, don't hesitate to take the temperature of the city and start taking it. There is a quality of life that would be sought in vain elsewhere in Afghanistan.

Day 12 : Walk in the beautiful city of Hérât

Get up early, a busy day awaits you. In Herat, it is possible to do everything on foot. Visit the Friday mosque, preferably early in the morning, then the citadel and the National Museum of Herat located inside. Stroll in the covered bazaar of the city. Then go to the Musalla site to admire the minarets and mausoleum of Queen Gowhar Shad.

Day 13 : Route to Christ-e-Sharif

On the way to the Cobra Minaret. A total of 15 hours to reach one of Afghanistan's greatest wonders. For your safety, it is better to take a step for the night on the journey, in Christ-e-Sharif, 4 hours drive from Hérât, in one of the bazaar hotels.

Day 14 : The Cobra Minaret, a marvel of Afghanistan

Start at dawn for Jam minaret. The road is steep and in poor condition. Unfortunately, you will have little time to admire the marvel. For we must return to Christ-e-Sharif overnight.

Day 15 : Return to town

Return from Hérât by road. Flight for Kabul.

Day 16 : Experience Kabul as a local

A well-deserved day of rest in Kabul. Wander in Shar-e-Now, stop in a cafe, play bowling, shop, to see how the young people of the Afghan middle class live.

Day 17 : Crossing rocky valleys towards Bamiyan

Departure by car to Bamiyan if you do not have the possibility to take the plane. You have to leave very early, because a breakdown on the road is always possible. We count 7 hours of driving. Take a lunch break in Goohrband, a small Pashtun village, if the security conditions are sufficient. If you arrive in the afternoon, you should take the opportunity to walk on the heights of Bamiyan. Overnight in one of the hotels in Bamiyan.

Day 18 : Traces of the Bamiyan Buddhas

Visit, on foot, of the site of the Buddhas; 1 hour 30 will suffice. Then take the car to go to Shar-e-Zohak, the red city, destroyed by Genghis Khan's men during their devastating passage. A 30-minute drive from the centre of Bamiyan. Climb at the top of the old citadel to admire the Bamiyan valley. If you have time, take a tour in the dragons valley, Daria Adjahar, 8 km from Bamiyan on the route of Band-e-Amir. Dinner at Silk Road Restaurant.

Day 19 : Dive into the deep blue of the lakes of Band-e-Amir

Departure at dawn from Bamiyan to the lakes of Band-e-Amir. It is not possible to sleep there or have lunch there, plan a picnic. In Band-e-Amir, go around the lakes, swim if possible. Return to Bamiyan in the evening. Night in Bamiyan.

Day 20 : Shopping and relaxation

Return to Kabul. Craft shopping and dinner at the Taverna of Lebanon to recover from the hours of the road!

Day 21 : Last hours in Kabul

If the weather is mild, picnic on the shores of Lake Carghea. Last races. Take a drink in one of Kabul's foreign bars, to discover the expatriate environment...

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Exploration de l'Afghanistan

  • 21 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Moyen

Si vous voulez avoir un bon aperçu de l'Afghanistan, il faut au moins y passer trois semaines. Voyager en Afghanistan nécessite beaucoup de temps. Dans cet itinéraire de trois semaines, seuls les sites et villes encore épargnés par l'insécurité en 2012 sont indiqués.

Si l'on veut réduire ses temps de parcours, il est possible de prendre l'avion et de ne visiter que les grandes villes d'Afghanistan (Kaboul-Mazar-Hérât, voire une extension à Bamiyan si l'on peut bénéficier d'un vol onusien ou Pactec). Ainsi, en une dizaine de jours, on se rendra à Mazar-e-Charif (de là, il est possible d'aller passer une journée à Balkh et éventuellement à Sheberghan). Puis, on prendra un vol pour Kaboul, puis Kaboul-Hérât, où l'on restera 2 jours. Au retour à Kaboul, des excursions sont faisables en une journée. 

Galerie photos

Enfants afghans. Mausolée d'Ahmad Shah Massoud, chef de la résistance afghane contre les Soviétiques. Sherberghan, caravane de chameaux. La mêlée : les tchopendoz s'arrachent la carcasse de chèvre. Convoi militaire en patrouille dans la ville de Maïmana. Un grand-père et son petit-fils au bazar. Ces quatre minarets datent du dernier empereur timuride d'Hérât. Mosquée Shah Do Shamsira. À gauche, emplacement d'un des deux bouddhas détruits en 2001 par les Talibans. Campagne aux alentours de Bâmiyân. Citadelle de Shar-e-Gholgola. Bala Hissar, les murs anciens qui entouraient Kaboul.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • KABOUL
  • ISTALIF
  • BAMIYAN
  • BALKH
  • MAÏMANA
  • HERÂT
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Exploration de l'Afghanistan - 21 jours

Jour 1 : Découverte de Kaboul

Le matin, visite du bazar, du marché aux oiseaux et de Chicken Street. L'après-midi, balade sur les remparts de Kaboul, en terminant par les jardins de Babur.

Jour 2 : Excursion dans la vallée du Panjshir jusqu'au mausolé de Massoud

Excursion d'une journée dans la vallée du Panjshir. Il est préférable de partir assez tôt de Kaboul pour avoir le temps de s'y promener. A Bazarak, visite du mausolée d'Ahmad Shah Massoud. Pique-nique au bord de la rivière Panjshir. Balade et retour à Kaboul le soir. Nuit à Kaboul.

Jour 3 : Traversé de sites bouddhiques sur la route du Nord

Départ, en voiture, tôt le matin, pour le Nord. Il faut compter 6-7 heures de route (il est possible de prendre l'avion, mais certains sites seraient forcément omis). Sur la route, arrêt au tunnel du Salang, construit en 1963 et qui a joué un rôle mythique dans la résistance afghane. Déjeuner au village de Dochi. Arrêt au site bouddhique de Sukh Kotal, près de Pul-e-Khumri, puis à Takht-e-Rostam, également un site bouddhique près de Samangan. Arrivée le soir à Mazar-e-Charif. Nuit dans l'un des hôtels de la ville, de préférence proche de la Mosquée bleue.

Jour 4 : Journée à Mazar-e-Charif

Visite de la Mosquée bleue. Balade dans le grand bazar de la ville. Shopping de tapis et de foulards dans les nombreuses boutiques autour de la mosquée. Dîner puis sortie à la fête foraine (sauf hiver).

Jour 5 : De Balkh, "la mère de toutes les cités" à Sheberghan

Excursion d'une journée à Balkh et à Sheberghan (arrangez-vous pour y être un vendredi). Visite de la cité antique et de la mosquée d'Haji Piyada. Balade autour du site. Déjeuner à Sheberghan. Petit tour dans la ville dédiée au seigneur de guerre Dostom. Assister à unbouzkachi à l'entrée de la ville. Retour puis nuit à Mazar-e-Charif.

Jour 6 : Traversée du désert

Départ très tôt pour Maïmana si la sécurité le permet. De Mazar, compter une journée de route. Arrêt à Andhoy, la capitale du tapis, proche de la frontière turkmène. Traversée du désert de Dasht-e-Laïla. Nuit à Maïmana.

Jour 7 : Exploration de Maïmana

Visite du bazar de Maïmana. Promenade en taxi-cheval. Grimper sur les collines qui surplombent la ville. Nuit à Maïmana.

Jour 8 : Chemin inverse

Retour à Mazar-e-Charif par la même route. Nuit à Mazar.

Jour 9 : Visite en profondeur de Kaboul

Avion pour Kaboul. Visite du quartier de Darulaman et du Musée national. Coucher de soleil sur la colline aux cerfs volants.

Jour 10 : Artisanat local à Istalif

Petite excursion d'une journée au village d'Istalif. Pique-nique au bord de la rivière. Shopping de céramiques. Promenade bucolique sur les hauteurs du village. Nuit à Kaboul.

Jour 11 : Envol pour Hérât

Départ pour Hérât en avion (2 heures de vol). Il y a beaucoup de sites à visiter à Hérât. Si l'on arrive assez tôt, ne pas hésiter à prendre la température de la ville et commencer à se l'approprier. On y trouve une qualité de vie qu'on chercherait en vain partout ailleurs en Afghanistan.

Jour 12 : Promenade dans la belle ville d'Hérât

Se lever tôt, une journée bien remplie vous attend. Dans Hérât, il est possible de tout faire à pied. Visite de la mosquée du Vendredi, de préférence tôt le matin, puis de la citadelle et du musée national d'Hérât situé à l'intérieur. Balade dans le bazar couvert de la ville. Se rendre ensuite sur le site du Musalla pour admirer les minarets et le mausolée de la reine Gowhar Shad.

Jour 13 : Route vers Christ-e-Charif

En route pour le minaret de Jam. Au total, 15 heures de route pour rejoindre une des plus grandes merveilles d'Afghanistan. Pour votre sécurité, il vaut mieux faire étape pour la nuit sur le trajet, à Christ-e-Charif, à 4 heures de route d'Hérât, dans un des hôtels du bazar.

Jour 14 : Le minaret de Jam, merveille d'Afghanistan

Partir à l'aube pour le minaret de Jam. La route est escarpée et en mauvais état. Malheureusement, vous n'aurez que peu de temps pour admirer la merveille. Car il faut rentrer pour la nuit à Christ-e-Charif.

Jour 15 : Retour en ville

Retour d'Hérât par la route. Vol pour Kaboul.

Jour 16 : Expérimenter Kaboul comme un local

Une journée de repos bien mérité à Kaboul. Baladez-vous dans Shar-e-Now, arrêtez-vous dans un café, allez jouer au bowling, faire du shopping, pour voir comment vit la jeunesse de la classe moyenne afghane.

Jour 17 : Traverser des vallées rocheuses vers Bamiyan

Départ en voiture pour Bamiyan si vous n'avez pas la possibilité de prendre l'avion. Il faut partir très tôt car une panne sur la route est toujours possible. On compte 7 heures de route. Faire une pause déjeuner à Goohrband, petit village pachtoune, si les conditions de sécurité sont suffisantes. Si l'on arrive dans l'après-midi, il faut en profiter pour marcher sur les hauteurs de Bamiyan. Nuit dans un des hôtels de Bamiyan.

Jour 18 : Sur les traces des bouddhas de Bamiyan

Visite, à pied, du site des bouddhas ; 1 heure 30 suffira. Puis, prendre la voiture pour se rendre à Shar-e-Zohak, la cité rouge, détruite par les hommes de Gengis Khan lors de leur passage dévastateur. Du centre de Bamiyan, compter 30 minutes de trajet. Grimper tout en haut de l'ancienne citadelle afin d'admirer la vallée de Bamiyan. Si l'on a le temps, faire un tour dans la vallée des dragons, Daria Adjahar, à 8 km de Bamiyan sur la route de Band-e-Amir. Dîner au restaurant Silk Road.

Jour 19 : Plongée dans le bleu profond des lacs de Band-e-Amir

Départ à l'aube de Bamiyan pour les lacs de Band-e-Amir. Il n'est pas possible de dormir là-bas ni d'y déjeuner, prévoir un pique-nique. A Band-e-Amir, faire le tour des lacs, se baigner si cela est possible. Retour le soir à Bamiyan. Nuit à Bamiyan.

Jour 20 : Shopping et détente

Retour à Kaboul. Shopping d'artisanat et dîner à la Taverna du Liban pour se remettre des heures de route !

Jour 21 : Dernières heures à Kaboul

Si le temps est clément, pique-nique au bord du lac de Carghea. Dernières courses. Prendre un verre dans l'un des bars pour étrangers de Kaboul, pour découvrir le milieu des expatriés...

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur