Berlin for a weekend

  • 3 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

Discover Berlin for a Weekend! This trendy capital will make you travel over time and offer a large number of activities to do alone, couples, family or friends.

Photo gallery


Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Berlin
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Berlin for a weekend - 3 days

Day 1 : Berlin evening in the heart of Kreuzberg

Alexanderplatz or Alex: historic Berlin square and former East Berlin city centre, with its typical GDR architecture. To see: the Marx-Engels-Forum, the Rotes Rathaus (the red brick town hall that also bears its name for the political opinions of its former councillors) and its neo-baroque Neptune fountain, but above all the 365 m high Fernsehturm (the television tower). It is possible to climb up and admire the city in a mobile sphere making a full tour in one hour; it is also advisable to book your VIP ticket on the website www.tv-turm.de to avoid long waiting times

Kreuzberg: it is one of the most famous districts in Berlin. We go there for its alternative side, its multitude of clubs and bars around Oranienstrasse, Bergmanstrasse and Kottbuser Tor. Admire the graffiti and other examples of street art that adorn the streets.

Day 2 : A day dedicated to the culture and history of the capital

Potsdamer Platz and the Kulturforum: why not start the day with a museum before the queues form? At the Kulturforum, behind the Potsdamer platz, you can choose between the Kupferstichkabinett, which houses an impressive collection of graphic art (engravings and drawings by Rembrandt, Dürer, Botticelli, Toulours-Lautrec, Andy Warhol...) or the Gemäldegalerie, a gallery of paintings containing exceptional pieces from the 13th to the 18th century. After the visit, stroll through the ultramodern district of Potsdamer Platz, one of the architects of which was the famous Renzo Piano. Take a look at the Philharmonic's concert hall, with its specially designed architecture for perfect acoustics. You can eat in the Sony Center at Lindenbraü, a Bavarian brewery at reasonable prices, or in one of the fast food restaurants of the Potsdamer Platz Arkaden shopping centre

South of Mitte and the Wall: in the afternoon you will follow in the footsteps of the Berlin Wall. Three sections are placed on the Potsdamer Platz, accompanied by explanatory signs on the history of the Wall and its layout. To explore the subject further, go to Checkpoint Charlie, where an outdoor exhibition is installed, excellently documented. Just next door is the exciting Museum am Checkpoint Charlie, which is really worth a visit to understand the extraordinary history of the separation of Berlin. From Potsdamer Platz, you can reach it on foot by going down Leipzigerstraße and then taking Friedrichstraße on your right. The museum is located just behind Checkpoint Charlie.

Friedrichshain and the Wall: for a different view of the Wall, visit Warschauer Str. (U1) and walk along the famous East Side Gallery on Mühlenstraße. At the Reunification, the German government invited artists from all over the world to express their idea of peace and freedom on this one-kilometre stretch.

Prenzlauer Berg and the Wall: Finally, go to the Wall Memorial, Bernauer Straße (U8), where a section is preserved, with the configuration of the time. End your day by strolling through Prenzlauer Berg. Where to dine? In summer, you can settle in the Mauerpark or in a Biergarten (the Prater for example); in winter, take refuge in the many restaurants and bars around the Kastanienallee. The nightlife of the district is full of possibilities, it's up to you to choose according to your tastes: bar, cinema, concert, cultural complex... (for a more agitated night, get off at Kreuzberg, Neukölln or Friedrichshain).

Day 3 : Sunday visits: museums, cathedrals and strolls

Tiergarten: the last day begins with a visit to the Siegessäule (Victory Column), symbol of the many triumphs of the Prussian Empire, which is located in the middle of Tiergarten. For an admirable view of Berlin, do not hesitate to climb the 285 steps. Above, under the benevolent presence of the famous golden angel of victory, you can see, among other things, Bellevue Castle, the official residence of the President of the Republic, as well as the buildings of the Chancellery. For the same type of panorama, you can also access the superb Reichstag dome free of charge (by booking in advance via the website www.bundestag.de).

Mitte: then admire the Brandenburger Tor and Pariser Platz, before accessing boulevard Unter den Linden, the city's mythical avenue where the elegant women of the early 20th century used to walk. Continuing, we arrive on the Bebelplatz, where the memorial of the Autodafé is located, a glass plate reminding us of the place where the Nazis burned the books of Jewish authors or those considered depraved. On either side of the square, you can admire the National Library, the Humboldt University where Karl Marx studied, the former library, the Staatsoper (Opera House), the Cathedral of St. Edward, the Konprinzenpalais (the Crown Prince's Palace where the unification of Germany was signed on 31 August 1990) and finally the Neue Wache (the New Guard), in which there is the Memorial to the victims of fascism and militarism and the German History Museum

Museum Island: after crossing the Spree, you reach Museum Island, a UNESCO World Heritage Site with major museums and the Berliner Dom (Cathedral). After this long walk, go to the Gendarmenmarkt for a drink. There are the two twin cathedrals - the Französischer Dom and the Deutscher Dom - face to face, as well as the Konzerthaus, a beautiful classical concert hall.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Berlin pour un week-end

  • 3 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

Partez à la découverte de Berlin le temps d'un week-end ! Cette capitale branchée vous fera voyager dans le temps et vous proposera un grand nombre d'activités à faire seul, en couple, en famille ou entre ami(e)s.

Galerie photos

Kulturbrauerei, site culturel majeur de la ville Vue sur Berlin depuis la colonne de Siegessaüle Porte de Brandebourg

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • BERLIN
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Berlin pour un week-end - 3 jours

Jour 1 : Soirée berlinoise au coeur du Kreuzberg

Alexanderplatz ou l'Alex : place historique de Berlin et ancien centre-ville de Berlin-Est, à l'architecture typique de la RDA. A voir : le Marx-Engels-Forum, le Rotes Rathaus (l'hôtel de ville en brique rouge qui porte aussi son nom pour les opinions politiques de ses anciens conseillers municipaux) et sa fontaine néobaroque de Neptune, mais surtout la Fernsehturm (la tour de télévision) haute de 365 m. Il est possible d'y monter et d'admirer la ville dans une sphère mobile effectuant un tour complet en une heure ; il est d'ailleurs conseillé pour s'éviter de longues minutes de queue de réserver son billet VIP sur le site Internet www.tv-turm.de.

Kreuzberg : c'est l'un des quartiers les plus connus de Berlin. On y va pour son côté alternatif, sa multitude de clubs et bars autour d'Oranienstrasse, de Bergmanstrasse et de Kottbuser Tor. Admirez les graffitis et autres exemples de street art qui habillent les rues.

Jour 2 : Une journée dédiée à la culture et à l'histoire de la capitale

Potsdamer Platz et le Kuturforum : pourquoi ne pas commencer la journée par un musée avant que les files d'attente ne se forment ? Au Kulturforum, derrière la Potsdamerplatz, vous aurez le choix entre le Kupferstichkabinett, qui abrite une impressionnante collection d'art graphique (gravures et dessins de Rembrandt, Dürer, Botticelli, Toulours-Lautrec, Andy Warhol...) ou la Gemäldegalerie, une galerie de peintures rassemblant des pièces exceptionnelles du XIIIe au XVIIIe siècle. Après la visite, flânez dans le quartier ultramoderne de Potsdamer Platz, dont l'un des architectes fut le célèbre Renzo Piano. Jetez un oeil à la salle de concerts de la Philarmonie, à l'architecture spécialement étudiée pour une acoustique parfaite. Vous pouvez vous restaurer dans l'enceinte du Sony Center au Lindenbraü, une brasserie bavaroise aux prix raisonnables, ou dans l'un des fast-foods du centre commercial Postdamer Platz Arkaden.

 

Sud de Mitte et le Mur : l'après-midi vous mettra sur les traces du Mur de Berlin. Trois pans sont d'ailleurs placés sur la Potsdamer Platz, accompagnés d'écriteaux explicatifs sur l'histoire du Mur et son tracé. Pour approfondir le sujet, rendez-vous à l'emplacement du Checkpoint Charlie, où une exposition extérieure est installée, excellemment bien documentée. Juste à côté se trouve le passionnant Museum am Checkpoint Charlie, qui vaut vraiment le détour pour comprendre l'histoire extraordinaire de la séparation de Berlin. Vous pouvez, depuis la Potsdamer Platz, le rejoindre à pied en descendant la Leipzigerstraße puis en prenant la Friedrichstraße sur votre droite. Le musée se trouve juste derrière le Checkpoint Charlie.

Friedrichshain et le Mur : pour avoir une autre vision du Mur, rendez-vous à Warschauer Str. (U1) et longez la célébrissime East Side Gallery sur la Mühlenstraße. A la Réunification, le gouvernement allemand invita des artistes du monde entier à exprimer leur idée de la paix et de la liberté sur ce tronçon d'un kilomètre.

Prenzlauer Berg et le Mur : enfin, rendez-vous au mémorial du Mur, Bernauer Straße (U8), où un tronçon est conservé, avec la configuration de l'époque. Terminez votre journée en flânant dans Prenzlauer Berg. Où dîner ? En été, vous pouvez vous installer dans le Mauerpark ou dans un Biergarten (le Prater par exemple) ; en hiver, réfugiez-vous dans les nombreux restaurants et bars autour de la Kastanienallee. La vie nocturne du quartier regorge de possibilités, à vous de choisir selon vos goûts : bar, cinéma, concert, complexe culturel... (pour une nuit plus agitée, descendez à Kreuzberg, Neukölln ou Friedrichshain).

Jour 3 : Visites dominicales : musées, cathédrales et flâneries

Tiergarten : la dernière journée commence avec une visite de la Siegessäule (colonne de la Victoire), symbole des nombreux triomphes de l'Empire prussien, qui se situe en plein milieu de Tiergarten. Pour une vue de Berlin admirable, n'hésitez pas à gravir les 285 marches. Là-haut, sous la présence bienveillante du célèbre ange doré de la victoire, on peut apercevoir, entre autres, le château de Bellevue, résidence officielle du président de la République, ainsi que les bâtiments de la Chancellerie. Pour le même type de panorama, vous pouvez aussi accéder gratuitement à la superbe coupole du Reichstag (en réservant au préalable via le site Internet www.bundestag.de).

Mitte : admirez ensuite la porte de Brandebourg (Brandenburger Tor) et la Pariser Platz, avant d'accéder au boulevard Unter den Linden, avenue mythique de la ville où se promenaient les élégantes du début du XXe siècle. En continuant, on arrive sur la Bebelplatz, où se trouve le mémorial de l'Autodafé, une plaque de verre rappelant l'endroit où les nazis brûlèrent les livres d'auteurs juifs ou considérés comme dépravés. De part et d'autre de la place, on peut admirer la Bibliothèque nationale, l'université Humboldt où Karl Marx étudia, l'ancienne bibliothèque, le Staatsoper (Opéra), la cathédrale Sainte-Edwige, le Konprinzenpalais (le palais du prince héritier où fut signée l'unification de l'Allemagne le 31 août 1990) et enfin la Neue Wache (la Nouvelle Garde), dans laquelle se trouvent le mémorial aux victimes du fascisme et du militarisme et le musée de l'Histoire allemande.

L'île aux Musées : après avoir franchi la Spree, vous atteignez l'île aux Musées, classée patrimoine de l'UNESCO, abritant des musées majeurs et le Berliner Dom (la cathédrale). Après cette longue marche, rendez-vous sur le Gendarmenmarkt pour boire un verre. Là se trouvent les deux cathédrales jumelles - le Französischer Dom et le Deutscher Dom - face à face, ainsi que la Konzerthaus, une belle salle de concert classique.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur